The broken road : from the Iron Gates to Mount Athos / Patrick Leigh Fermor ; edited by Colin Thubron and Artemis Cooper.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
loading   Processing Request
Share on Goodreads
  • Additional Information
    • Abstract:
      Summary: "In the winter of 1933 eighteen-year-old Patrick ('Paddy') Leigh Fermor set out to walk across Europe, starting in Holland and ending in Constantinople, a trip that took him the better part of a year. Decades later, when he was well over fifty, Leigh Fermor told the story of that life-changing journey in A time of gifts and Between the woods and the water ... The broken road is the long and avidly awaited account of the final leg of his youthful adventure that Leigh Fermor promised but was unable to finish before his death in 2011, assembled from Leigh Fermor's manuscripts by his prize-winning biographer Artemis Cooper and the travel writer Colin Thubron"-- Provided by publisher.
    • Content Notes:
      Introduction / Colin Thubron, Artemis Cooper -- From the iron gates -- A hanging glass box -- Over the Great Balkan -- To the Danube -- The Wallachian plain -- Bucharest -- To Varna -- Dancing by the Black Sea -- Constantinople -- Mount Athos.
    • Notes:
      Originally published: Great Britain : John Murray (Publishers), 2013.
      Continues: A time of gifts; and Between the woods and the water.
      Includes index.
      1 2
    • ISBN:
      9781590177549 (hbk. : alk. paper)
      1590177541 (hbk. : alk. paper)
    • Accession Number:
    • Accession Number:
    • Accession Number: