Join us on CCPL's Zoom server for a virtual discussion of readings from The Best American Short Stories 2020. To obtain a copy of the anthology, please visit the Fiction Desk at Main Library. For questions about the discussion please email Jackie Lyons at [email protected]

Wednesday, January 13 at 6:30 p.m. 
“Introduction” by Curtis Sittenfeld  and “Godmother Tea” by Selena Anderson 

Wednesday, February 10 at 6:30 p.m. 
“The Apartment” by T.C. Boyle and “A Faithful but Melancholy Account of Several Barbarities Lately Committed” by Jason Brown 

Wednesday, March 10 at 6:30 p.m. 
“Sibling Rivalry” by Michael Byers and “The Nanny” by Emma Cline 

Wednesday, April 14 at 6:30 p.m. 
“Halloween” by Marian Crotty and “Something Street” by Carolyn Ferrell 

Wednesday, May 12 at 6:30 p.m. 
“This is Pleasure” by Mary Gaitskill and “In the Event” by Meng Jin 

Wednesday, June 9 at 6:30 p.m. 
“The Children” by Andrea Lee and “Rubberdust” by Sarah Thankam Mathews 

Wednesday, July 14 ay 6:30 p.m. 
“It’s Not You” by Elizabeth McCracken  and “Liberté” by Scott Nadelson 

Wednesday, August 11 at 6:30 p.m. 
“Howl Palace” by Leigh Newman and “The Nine-Tailed Fox Explains” by Jane Pek 

Wednesday, September 8 at 6:30 p.m. 
“The Hands of Dirty Children” by Alejandro Puyana and “Octopus VII” by Anna Reeser 

Wednesday, October 13 at 6:30 p.m. 
“Enlightenment” by William Pei Shih and “Kennedy” by Kevin Wilson 

Wednesday, November 10 at 6:30 p.m. 
“The Special World” by Tiphanie Yanique and a selection from The New Yorker 

Wednesday, December 8 at 6:30 p.m. 
Selections from The New Yorker 

 

Workflow: 
Published