Vote
Thursday, April 12, 2018 Natalie Hauff, PR Manager

CHARLESTON, SC - Charleston County Public Library (CCPL) and Charleston County Board of Elections and Voter Registration (BEVR) are working together for the third year to host several voter registration drives between April and September, and patrons will have the opportunity to register to vote at 10 of CCPL's branches. 

"Voting is one of our most fundamental rights as Americans, and it's important for us at CCPL to provide resources to our patrons that can enable them to better practice that right," said CCPL Executive Director Nicolle Davies. "By collaborating with the County's Board of Elections, we are able to offer more locations and accessibility to residents to register to vote." 

Between April 13 and Sept. 29, Charleston County residents will have several opportunities to visit one of the 10 participating branches and register to vote. 

"Through this partnership, instead of coming down to our headquarters, residents also have the option of visiting their closest library branch, which we hope removes another barrier in getting our citizens to practice their civic duty," said BEVR Director Joe Debney. "We are always working to find ways to make this process more accessible for our future voters." 

County residents who visit one of the drives can register to vote, sign up for photo ID registration cards, update address and name changes, request duplicate cards, request absentee ballots and more.

Voter Registration applications for new registrations must be received by the Board of Elections and Voter Registration Office or postmarked no later than 30 days prior to election. To complete your Voter Registration online, you MUST have a valid driver's license or identification card issued by the S.C. Department of Motor Vehicles. 17 year olds who will be 18 years of age as of the date of the next General Election may register to vote prior to 18th birthday and may also participate in primary elections prior to 18th birthday.

For more information on polling locations and the voting process, click here

For more information about voting in Charleston County, visit www.charlestoncounty.org/departments/bevr

 

Voter Registration Dates

Friday, April 13
11 a.m. to 2 p.m.
Hurd/St. Andrews Regional Library

Wednesday, April 25
11:30 a.m. - 1 p.m. 
John's Island Regional Library 

Friday, May 4
10 a.m. - 1 p.m. 
James Island Library 

Saturday, May 5
10 a.m. - 1 p.m. 
Mount Pleasant Regional Library 

Tuesday, May 8
4 p.m. - 7 p.m.
Main Library 

Thursday, May 10
2 p.m. - 4 p.m. 
Village Library 

Sunday, May 27
2 p.m. - 5 p.m.
Main Library 

Tuesday, June 6
4 p.m. - 7 p.m.
Main Library 

Sunday, June 24 
2 p.m. - 5 p.m.
Main Library

Tuesday, July 10
4 p.m. - 7 p.m.
Main Library

Sunday, July 22
2 p.m. - 5 p.m.
Main Library

Saturday, August 4
1:30 p.m. - 4 p.m.
Otranto Road Regional Library

Tuesday, August 7
4 p.m. - 7 p.m.
Main Library

Saturday, August 18
1 p.m. - 5 p.m.
Mt. Pleasant Regional Library

Sunday, August 19
2 p.m. - 5 p.m.
Main Library

Monday, Sept. 10
10 a.m. - 1 p.m.
Hurd/St. Andrews Regional Library

Tuesday, Sept. 11
4 p.m. - 7 p.m.
Main Library

Wednesday, Sept. 12
Noon - 4 p.m.
Hurd/St. Andrews Regional Library

Saturday, Sept. 15
1 p.m. - 5 p.m.
Mt. Pleasant Regional Library

Friday, Sept. 21
10 a.m. - 1 p.m.
James Island Library

Saturday, Sept. 22
11:30 a.m. - 1 p.m.
John's Island Regional Library

Sunday, Sept. 23
2 p.m. - 5 p.m.
Main Library

Monday, Sept. 24
2 p.m. - 4 p.m.
Mt. Pleasant Regional Library

Wednesday, Sept. 26
11:30 a.m. - 2 p.m.
Dart Library

Saturday, Sept. 29
2 p.m. - 4 p.m.
Dorchester Road Regional Library