About CCPL

Charleston County opened the doors to its first free public library Jan. 1, 1931. The Charleston Free Library of the County of Charleston was initially headquartered in a wing of the Charleston Museum and served residents with five branches and a bookmobile.

Currently serving residents with 16 locations and a bookmobile, the Charleston County Public Library operates under a mission and vision that looks toward the future.

Got questions? We have answers!

During regular hours, library staff are available to answer your questions by text or instant messenger through the chat box below.

2018 Holiday Schedule

Holiday CCPL Closure Dates
New Year's Day Monday, Jan. 1
Martin Luther King Jr. Day Monday, Jan. 15
Presidents Day Monday, Feb. 19
Easter Sunday, April 1
Memorial Day Monday, May 28
Independence Day Wednesday, July 4
Labor Day Monday, Sept. 3
Staff Development Day Monday, Oct. 8
Veterans Day Sunday, Nov. 11
Monday, Nov. 12
Thanksgiving Wednesday, Nov. 21 - Close at 6 p.m.
Thursday, Nov. 22
Friday, Nov. 23
Christmas  Monday, Dec. 24
Tuesday, Dec. 25
Wednesday, Dec. 26

Contact CCPL

The Charleston County Public Library welcomes your questions and comments. 

Charleston County Public Library
68 Calhoun Street
Charleston, SC 29401
Phone 843-805-6930
Text-a-Question 843-418-4114

Ask-A-Question is a CCPL service that provides answers to your reference or general information questions via IM, email, telephone call or in person. Reference staff will be happy to assist you with online information searches, library catalog searches for a particular title, online research databases, and other library services.

Mission Statement

Charleston County Public Library connects our diverse community to information, fosters lifelong learning and enriches lives.

CCPL's Vision

Charleston County Public Library is the path to our cultural heritage, a door to resources of the present and a bridge to opportunities in the future.

Stop by a branch near you, and discover a new world of services, resources, classes and programs at your library.

Workflow: 
Published